Laws in New Jersey for possession of drugs have been growing increasingly severe. The penalties for possession of a controlled substance or drugs vary as per the type and amount of drug in possession. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10A(4), a person can face a penalty of a disorderly persons offense, which is up to 6 months in prison, a fine of $1,000, loss of driver’s license, and drug rehabilitation; if he/she is found possessing less Than 50 Grams of Marijuana. If an individual is found possessing more than 50 Grams of Marijuana then, he/she may face an indictable fourth-degree criminal offense, that is, up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
As per N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, possession of Narcotics or Controlled Dangerous Substances like cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, acid, ecstasy, GBH, and all other illegal narcotics, stimulants, hallucinogens, opiates, or depressants may result into a 3-5 years of imprisonment, a fine of $1,000 to $25,000, loss of driver’s license, mandatory drug education and rehabilitation programs.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2, a person charged with possession drug paraphernalia may face up to six months in prison, a fine of $500 to $1,000, and suspension of their driver’s license for up to two years.
A simple possession of unauthorized Prescription Drugs may result into a third-degree indictable offense, with maximum penalties of up to five years in prison and substantial fines.
Manufacture, Distribution, and Possession With Intent to Distribute Charges
Laws in New Jersey charges strict penalties for drug manufacturing, distributing, or possessing with intent to distribute.
Depending on the quantity of the substance, an individual can be charged with a first, second, third, or fourth degree indictable offense.
|Quantity of Marijuana||Type of Offense|
|Less than one ounce||Fourth-Degree|
|More than one ounce but less than five pounds||Third-Degree|
|More than five pounds but less than 25 pounds||Second-Degree|
|More than 25 pounds||First-Degree|
|Quantity of Heroin or Cocaine||Type of Offense|
|Less than ½ an ounce||Third-Degree|
|More than ½ an ounce but less than five ounces||Second-Degree|
|More than five ounces||First-Degree|
|Quantity of Psilocybin/LSD||Type of Offense|
|Less than 100 milligrams||Second-Degree|
|More than 100 milligrams||First-Degree|
Contact Aditya Surti Esq. at 201-518-6642201-518-6642 to schedule an appointment at the Jersey City Office or at 732-750-1269732-750-1269 to schedule an appointment at the Woodbridge Office. You can also email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule an appointment. Appointments can be available on weekends and nights and evenings.
We represent clients in Middlesex County, Hudson County, Union County, Bergen County, Atlantic County, Camden County, Mercer County, Monmouth County, Morris County, Ocean County, Passaic County, Somerset County, Warren County and Burlington County of New Jersey.