Motorists should know by now that driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater will result in a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge. Those convicted of this serious traffic offense will face harsh penalties. One of those harsh penalties is the loss of driving privileges. If you are convicted of DWI, you will likely have your standard driver’s license suspended or revoked for some time. For a first-offense DWI, you will automatically face a 3-month license suspension. However, if there are any aggravating factors, you may lose your driving privileges for longer. Moreover, if you have any previous convictions or your BAC level was high, it could result in a longer suspension or revocation period. Losing your driving privileges can negatively disrupt your life. If you are wondering how you can get your driver’s license back after a DWI, please continue following along. In addition, contact an experienced Middlesex County, New Jersey DWI Lawyer who can help you protect your driving privileges.
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s licenses to those convicted of DWI?
In most states, those convicted of an alcohol-related offense such as DWI are offered a hardship or conditional license after they’ve completed an alcohol education program and alcohol rehabilitation treatment recommended by the court. A conditional driver’s license permits those convicted of DWI to operate a vehicle with restricted driving privileges. A conditional license can help those convicted of DWI keep certain driving privileges like driving to and from work. However, New Jersey does not offer hardship or conditional licenses to those convicted of DWI. If you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, the only way to regain your driving privileges is if you comply with the requirements of your suspension or revocation.
How do I get my license back?
As mentioned above, if your license has been suspended or revoked as a result of DWI, you are not permitted to operate a vehicle until the period of your suspension or revocation is over. If you operate a vehicle while your license is still under suspension or revocation, you will be subject to additional penalties. This includes an extra 1 to 2 years of suspension or revocation. If you do not violate the terms of your suspension or revocation, your driving privileges can be reinstated. However, your license will not automatically be reinstated. You are required to apply for a new license at the DMV and pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
Since New Jersey does not offer those convicted of a DWI conditional license, it is imperative to have the right legal representation to protect your driving privileges and prevent harsh penalties. Our firm is committed to helping our clients understand the best course of action to achieve favorable results. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today!